Posted by: First Mate | July 23, 2011

Today, I Woke up in Pain

And that makes me happy.  I don’t love the hip pain which at times can drive me nuts, but I am so happy that I woke up and get to watch the sunrise over Kaneohe Bay.  For me, the sheer beauty of nature and life is how I believe in the future and am thankful for the past and the pain.

I love that I can be nagged by my seven year old to go and read with her.  (Now) Thankful, that I have her mess of bendaroos to clean up. That means that I have an amazing child that wants to spend time with me. And that she has toys to play with.

When I lay on the ground  to stretch my hip,  I am thankful, because I can feel it.  I am alive.

I turn 43 today and have so much to be thankful for: being able to LIVE is more important than just being alive.

I am thankful for my husband, who takes the role of father, husband, businessman and Captain so seriously at times I feel smothered and yet that is exactly what I need. I am thankful he gets joy out of making me laugh.

I am thankful for my family and all the crazy things they have watched me do and yet they still love me.

I am thankful for my friends, who laugh with me, make me laugh, roll their eyes and are so patient when I screw up. I am thankful they trust me enough to confide their happiness and human sorrows.

I am thankful for the people I work with because it means I have the ability to use my brain.

I am thankful for the people who help me at the bank, the post office, the gas station, the grocery store, West Marine, the coffee shop, my daughters school, etc because they too are on this journey.  Even though our opinions, lifestyles and attitudes may differ – at the core they are facing the same struggles and insecurities that I do.

I am thankful that I can swim and see a completely different world.

Today, I am just happy to be here. NOW.

Life is short, sometimes the simplicity makes it easier to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

